ChatGPT Plus
$20 / monthPublished subscription price. Codex usage depends on the model and workload.
Official pricingAI SUBSCRIPTION MARGIN BY UTILIZATION
Test how subscription price, assumed serving costs, and usage interact. Change the inputs to explore a scenario and find its break-even point.
BUILD A SCENARIO
Source review: 23 Sep 2026
Illustrative model. This calculator does not estimate OpenAI’s or Anthropic’s actual profit. “100% utilization” means your assumed full monthly workload, not a published plan allowance.
YOUR MODELED RESULT
Enter valid non-negative costs, a positive subscription price, and utilization from 0% to 100%.
At 20% utilization, modeled costs equal subscription revenue.
($20 − $0 − $100 × 20%) ÷ $20 = 0%This is contribution after modeled costs, not reported gross margin or net profit. Training, R&D, sales, and other expenses are excluded unless you include an allocation in your inputs.
SEE THE SENSITIVITY
Modeled margin (%) · $0.00 other monthly cost
Rows express the full-workload serving cost as a multiple of subscription revenue. Columns vary utilization. Select a cell to load that scenario above.
| Full-workload cost ÷ monthly revenue | 1%utilization | 5%utilization | 10%utilization | 20%utilization | 25%utilization | 50%utilization | 75%utilization | 100%utilization |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 0.5× $10.00 / month | ||||||||
| 1× $20.00 / month | ||||||||
| 2× $40.00 / month | ||||||||
| 5× $100.00 / month | ||||||||
| 10× $200.00 / month | ||||||||
| 20× $400.00 / month |
Example: a 5× cost ratio means a $100 serving cost at full workload for a $20 subscription. It is an assumption, not a “5× usage” plan. The heatmap follows your subscription revenue and other monthly cost; changing serving cost selects a scenario without changing the predefined row ratios.
PUBLIC PRICES, SEPARATE FROM COSTS
Published subscription price. Codex usage depends on the model and workload.
Official pricingPro offers 5× or 20× Codex usage relative to Plus. These are usage tiers, not disclosed cost ratios.
Official pricingMonthly billing price. The annual option is $200 upfront; it is a different billing commitment.
Official pricingOffers 5× or 20× more usage than Pro, subject to limits. No fixed dollar allowance is inferred here.
Official pricingUSD reference prices checked 2026-09-23. Taxes, regional pricing, discounts, and extra usage can change the amount paid. Price presets change revenue only; they do not supply provider cost or quota assumptions.
UNDERSTAND THE MODEL
A simple sensitivity model—not a provider income statement.
Let P be monthly subscription revenue, C the assumed serving cost at full workload, B other monthly cost, and U utilization as a fraction from 0 to 1. Contribution = P − B − C × U. Contribution margin = (P − B − C × U) ÷ P. If C is positive, break-even utilization = (P − B) ÷ C. Costs are assumed to scale linearly with usage.
An API price is what a customer pays for a service. It is not a disclosure of the provider’s infrastructure cost. Model choice, prompt length, caching, batching, tool calls, and hardware efficiency can all affect the economics. This calculator keeps the serving-cost assumption explicit instead of converting a plan’s usage multiplier into an API dollar allowance.
Only that the costs entered exceed revenue for this scenario. It does not establish that a real provider, plan, or customer is unprofitable. A break-even point above 100% means the scenario remains positive throughout the modeled usage range; if the other monthly cost already exceeds revenue, it is negative even with no usage.
No. A real business has a distribution of users and workloads, changing service limits, overhead, and nonlinear infrastructure costs. The model covers one subscriber in one month. Defaults are illustrative, and inputs remain in this page until it is reloaded.
CHECK THE BASIS
Plus $20/month, Pro from $100/month, relative usage tiers, and workload-dependent limits.
Continuously maintained page · Checked 2026-09-23. Used for retail pricing and usage context; it does not establish provider serving costs.
Pro monthly and annual prices, Max starting price, and relative usage tiers.
Continuously maintained page · Checked 2026-09-23. Used for retail pricing and usage context; it does not establish provider serving costs.
Formulas, scenario values, and interpretations are AIstify’s. No published provider margin is claimed.